Phoenix Assault Defense Attorney

Assault is considered a criminal act of threatening violence or using violence on another person. This crime can be physical, verbal or even sexual. Assault is a very serious crime in Arizona. If you or a loved one have been charged with any form of assault, it is absolutely vital that you contact a qualified, knowledgeable and experienced attorney to schedule a free consultation.


Understanding An Assault Charge


An assault charge can be brought against you or a loved one in many different ways. In Arizona, an injury is not necessary in order for someone to be charged and convicted of assault. A person can be charged with assault if the potential victim was allegedly placed in reasonable fear of imminent physical injury or if the victim was touched with the intent to injure, insult or provoke. 


Charges of misdemeanor assault could potentially carry punishment of up to 6 months in jail along with fines up to $2,500. That is why it is important to make sure you contact an experienced assault defense attorney if this charge has been placed on you. 


Aggravated Assault


A misdemeanor assault charge in Arizona can turn into Aggravated Assault if any of the following elements occur:


  • If the victim is a police officer, firefighter or other special services.
  • If the defendant entered a private residence.
  • If the victim is 15 years old or younger.
  • If the assailant restrains the victim.
  • If a deadly weapon is used.
  • If the assailant causes serious physical injury to the victim.


Aggravated Assault charges are charged as felonies in the state of Arizona and need to be taken seriously. Contact an experienced assault defense attorney if this charge has been placed on you.


Assault w/ A Domestic Violence Designation


Assault charges can have a domestic violence designation if the assault happened between spouses, former spouses, partners, former partners, boyfriend or girlfriend, persons with whom you have a child, or if it happened to children. Having a domestic violence designation added onto an assault charge is not something to take lightly. You or your loved one would be subject to assault penalties and even more strict penalties that come with the domestic violence designation. If you have been charged with assault and have a domestic violence designation, then you need to contact an experienced and knowledgeable attorney to help you with your next steps. 


Assault Defense Lawyer In Phoenix, Arizona


If you or a loved one have been charged with a crime then this is a very stressful time in your life. The most important step you can take right now is consulting with an experienced attorney that has extensive knowledge of the criminal justice system and how to handle misdemeanors. If you choose to work with our firm, you will always have direct access to your attorney and will be working with one of the most knowledgeable criminal attorneys in Arizona. 


Our firm serves the areas of Phoenix, Mesa, Scottsdale, Glendale, Tempe, Chandler and other areas around Arizona. If you or a loved one have been charged with an Assault charge in Arizona, please contact us today to schedule your free consultation.

Criminal Defense Lawyer In Phoenix

Please fill out the quick form and we will be in touch with you as soon as we can!

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Legal Disclaimer:

The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. Benikov Law Firm's legal team is licensed to practice law in Arizona. We invite you to contact us, but please be aware that contacting us does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until an attorney-client relationship has been established.

Avvo 10.0 Rating
Avvo 10.0 Rating
Avvo Client Choice Award
Law QA
Top Attorneys Badge
Avvo Client Choice Award
Benikov Law Firm
Copyright © 2022 Benikov Law Firm, PLLC. All Rights Reserved.
Designed by:
Lab Coat Marketing Beaker