The penalties for being charged and convicted of Shoplifting is dependent on the seriousness of the crime. If the value of the property that was stolen is higher, then more serious charges can be levied against you which would increase the penalties resulting from the conviction. Some of the penalties for Shoplifting in Arizona include:
- Class 1 Misdemeanor: If the value of the goods stolen was less than $1,000. This carries the least punishment, but the sentencing can still be severe. Conviction of this Class 1 misdemeanor carries a maximum sentence of 6 months in jail, $2,500 fine and up to 3 years of probation.
- Class 6 Felony: If the goods stolen were valued between $1,000 and $2,000 or more OR the property stolen was a firearm, then this Shoplifting crime will be charged as a Class 6 felony. This conviction carries a potential jail sentence of 6 to 18 months and a fine that could be as much as $150,000.
- Class 5 Felony: There are 3 different scenarios that could result in a Shoplifting charge to be charged as a Class 5 felony. One of those is if the value of the goods were $2,000 or more. The 2nd way is if there is a continuous episode of shoplifting that had a combined value of $1,500 or more in three separate events within a 3 month period. The 3rd is when someone charged with Shoplifting is assisting a gang or syndicate. This conviction will carry a potential jail sentence of 9 months to 2 years. The maximum fine is $150,000 along with probation for 3 years.
- Class 4 Felony: The first scenario where someone can be charged with Class 4 Felony Shoplifting is when the person used an instrument, container, device or other article to facilitate the shoplifting. The second scenario is if the person charged already has 2 prior offenses within the last 5 years. This is the most serious Shoplifting charge and a conviction carries a potential jail sentence of 18 months to 3 years, a fine up to $150,000 and probation up to 3 years.
If you or a loved one have been charged with a Shoplifting charge in Arizona, please contact us today to schedule your free consultation.
Civil Penalties for Shoplifting
In the state of Arizona, merchants have the right to sue adults and emancipated minors in shoplifting scenarios civilly for damages. The merchant can request damage awards of the value of the items stolen, plus additional damages. If convicted in a civil suit, the shoplifter can face a $250 civil penalty plus the retail value of the stolen goods.